Queen Size: A Love Poem

two nude black women embracing.

Let me roll over into your warmth. Photo courtesy of Mike Mogul.

 

Written by Tresaun Lee for her wife, Maia

 

I shove my backside against the perfectly assorted seam.

Rubbing the 300 count about

my thighs –in silent hopes to feel

an arm

wrap around my waist.

Never begging to wash sheets.

Praying the scent of you escapes my

feather down &

sinking deeper into an oversized dray;

awaiting to be weighed down to

the box spring.

The gentle thrusts of slow spooning singing out.

When will you return here and make this castle

feel less big?

Like the nape of your neck –smaller in fact.

Consume the “other” side.

Let me roll over into your warmth

rather than the chill of that empty sort.

Have me wake in dire nights to a steady

breath on my cheek and eyelashes

batting open to dawn.

Seeing your

tangled tresses interlock on my tips –even

in the dead of night.  No black room can darken

you out.

Every sleep alone does fill this dread.

Yet and always I find it too much of a

pillage to assort these pillows

to stack them so –to remake

your inanimate body feel like it’s here.

Just come home to this scene.

For even a King feels small

in a chariot beset for a Queen.

One thought on “Queen Size: A Love Poem

  1. Pingback: About Our Love: Why I Waited Five Years to Marry My College Sweetheart | Black Lesbian Love Lab

Leave a Reply

