Alisha & Skye: A Beautiful Mind and Her Good Luck Charm

Skye and Alisha selfie

Skye and Alisha Jones’ love grew out of honest conversation.

Skye Jones daily doles out wisdom on life, spirituality, family and love to her hundreds of followers on Facebook. Her outlook on life and the obvious love she has for her wife, Alisha, and daughter, Jada, is so inspiring and a reminder to all black lesbians to never give up on having the life of our dreams. The couple graciously took time to talk with us about how they built their love and life together:

Black Lesbian Love Lab (BL3): How did you two meet?

Skye: We actually met on Facebook. We were Facebook friends for a while and one day Alisha posted that she was bored, I was new to Raleigh N.C., so I [messaged] her. We talked through inbox a few times. I made it known I wasn’t looking for anything serious, and neither was she. We eventually exchanged numbers, she would call and text, we would speak briefly about our day.

As time passed, she began to ask if we could hang out, I was skeptical. After a few months passed, one night I finally said, yes. The next afternoon she came over, I was having a BAD day, and in a place in my life where I didn’t care what she or anyone thought of me. So of course I had on an old T-shirt and sweats, hair was all over my head. I opened the door, when I saw her my heart skipped a beat. All I could think was, “Dang she sexy.”

 

Alisha aka AJ: Everything she wrote is true, my first thought when she opened the door, was, “Finally I get to meet the woman with the beautiful mind.” I still don’t remember the sweats or the T-shirt. The front room didn’t have much light so when she turned the lights on, the first thing I saw was her beautiful eyes. Then I got very nervous, because I knew I didn’t want to mess this up.

 

Skye: She ended up staying the night. She held me in a way that I had never been held before. She never rushed or even mentioned sex; it took us a while to get to that point. We talked about things that probably shouldn’t have been discussed on the first meeting. Things like hurt from past relationships and family. But it actually set the tone for where we are today. From that first night she stayed with me she has literally been in my bed, now our bed, every single night. She never went home. We both laugh because that’s something we’ve NEVER done.

 

BL3: What attracted you to each other?

Alisha: Her mind, her conversation. I never met someone who looks at life the way she does. It’s almost like something off of the television. She’s the biggest dreamer I’ve ever met, but not only does she dream she goes out and tries to make all her dreams come true, and does well at it. But to top it off she dreams, then pushes me to dream, and won’t take no for an answer. That’s the sexiest thing I’ve ever seen in my entire life.

Skye: Her conversation, we could talk, and still talk for hours about any and everything. She knows a little about everything, and I LOVE IT!! I’m a talker, and a dreamer. Good looks will get my attention but great conversation and intelligence will keep me. That was very hard for me to come across before meeting her. She’s also super corny (lol) and I mean that in a sweet way. She is such a cornball, but it’s cute and is 95 percent of the reason we laugh as much as we do.

 

BL3: What was your first date like?

Skye: She picked me up, right after work from my apartment. It was summer time, all I had time for was a quick change of shoes into some flip flops. She had her dog in the car, she drove us to the park, we walked around the lake, stopped to feed the ducks and we laughed.

 

I was in a bad place in my life before meeting her. We both went through terrible breakups. But she was always smiling ear to ear when she saw me, and I was still skeptical. She grabbed my hand, asked if I was ok, I answered yes. She stopped and hugged me, and said, “I don’t want to scare you. But I’m going to marry you one day.” My thoughts were, “Umm hmm ok let’s just get to the next day first lol.” She said this a lot through out the time we dated.

 

Alisha: Yes our first date was exactly how she said it. We walked around the park, I held her hand; it was perfect. Even though I went through a bad break up, there was something about her that made me not even care or think about the past anymore.

 

All I knew is I wanted her, and was going to do whatever it took to get and keep her.

 

We both had been hurt, I was glad we experienced that. Because I knew I could love her past any hurt someone else caused her; I wanted to make sure she felt the same. And when she spoke I knew she was the one, and was tired of games, all she wanted was something and someone real.

 

BL3: How long have you been together?  

Skye and Alisha: We officially started dating April 1, 2012. But even before making it official it was just the two of us. We didn’t see other people, didn’t have outsiders calling our phone, we just didn’t have a title. But after the title, nothing changed we were already doing the things couples should do.

 

BL3: What do you love about each other?

Skye: I love that she took the time to get to know me, and now understands me in a way no one ever has. She fights for us, no matter how tough things get, she’s right there ready to do whatever we need to do to make things better.

I love that love can be seen in her eyes, and through her actions. She tells me every day, but even if she didn’t I can always see it when I look at her. I know that sounds cliché or like a story from TV but its the absolute truth, and the first time in my life I’ve ever seen love in someone eyes. I look at her sometimes, and before she can say anything I say, “You love me.” And that’s me not asking but telling her, because it’s so clear.

 

Alisha: I love that she pushes herself, me our entire family to be the very best. She reminds us each day how important having a relationship with God is. She went from a dark place, and now she is the most positive person I know.

She sees greatness in herself and me, this woman believes and will make you believe that you can do whatever in life you want to do, and if you tell her “no,” with time she will truly prove you wrong. Some people have a rabbit’s foot, but she’s my good luck charm. Being around her, I’ve witnessed great things happen. I never thought in a million years I’d be this person. She changed my way of thinking, and how I see life.

Next, the couple talks about their marriage and adopting a little girl.

2 thoughts on “Alisha & Skye: A Beautiful Mind and Her Good Luck Charm

  1. Pingback: My Grown Woman Christmas List | Black Lesbian Love Lab

Leave a Reply

