Slide Show: Stephanie & Regina Set Sail on Their Wedding Day

Written by Regina Palmer

Regina and Stephanie were able to enjoy views of the Potomac River on their wedding day!

Regina and Stephanie were able to enjoy views of the Potomac River on their wedding day!

Stephanie and I met through a mutual friend on July 21, 2013. Stephanie says she was attracted to my temperament, my smile and my height (we’re both around 6 feet tall). I was equally attracted to her smile, kind eyes, the sound of her voice and her height. We’ve been together for 1 year and 2 months. It has been the most peaceful year for both of us. This relationship is very different from any in our pasts and we wanted to preserve the magic! We can’t seem to be without one another for very long and still to this day we spend the majority of our time apart on the phone.

We’ve known for a long time that we are meant for one another. We complement and complete the other so when Stephanie proposed, I readily accepted.

Our wedding day was like something out of a movie. I was late! Extremely late. Stephanie was very nervous and worried. However, once I finally arrived, everything progressed quickly. My nephew walked me down the aisle where Stephanie was waiting with tears in her eyes. I did not have a “Father/Daughter” dance; I had a “Mother/Daughter” dance!

While we were exchanging vows, we were on top of the world! The thought of [same-sex] couples before us not being allowed to marry and where we stood at that very moment, was extremely thought provoking. We followed the officiant’s cues and exchanged rings. After we heard, “I now pronounce you spouses. You may kiss your Spouse,” we kissed. Of course, I had to go back in for a double smooch!

The ceremony was held on the Odyssey cruise ship in Washington, D.C., while the ship was docked. The reception was held while we cruised the Potomac River during their champagne brunch on September 20, 2014. We mutually chose the Odyssey as our venue due to the beautiful settings and photo opportunities while the cruise is taking place.

Enjoy more photos below. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Regina and Stephanie Palmer live in Waldorf, Md.

Leave a Reply

