Marathon Love: After 24 Years, Rose and Wendy Are Still a Team

Rose and Wendy say living in a small town doesn't stop them from being affectionate.

Rose and Wendy say living in a small town doesn’t stop them from being affectionate.

November 6, 1990 marked the day that Wendy and Rose met. They have been together ever since. They live in the small town of Princess Anne located on Maryland’s conservative, rural Eastern Shore. We talk with them below to learn more about them:

Black Lesbian Love Lab (BL3): How did you two meet?

Wendy: Rose was a new teacher in Baltimore and had just moved there from Connecticut. She was teaching downtown when some of her friends took her to a club on Lexington Street. When I got to the club, it was closing. We hadn’t met yet. Both of us were headed to an after party and she was parked behind me. She walked by my window, her coat flapping in the wind in slow motion and I told my gay friend, “She’s the one. That’s the one I’m going to end up with.”

I’m the kind of person who is used to walking into a club and everyone noticing me and ordering me drinks. She didn’t notice me, which made me very upset. When we got to the club, I asked my friend if she noticed me. He said no. And I said, “I’ve got to fix this.” I walked up to her table, asked to sit down and told her I have 10 questions for her and to not say anything but yes or no. I was a bouncy, tiny 25-year-old then. I asked her if she had a car, her own place, if she drinks, if she had a career. The last question I asked her was if she had a girlfriend. She said, yes. And I said, “Get rid of her. It’s my turn.” I wrote my number down for her.

The next day she didn’t call me, so I called her. She said she did try to call me. In any case, she asked me to come over where she was living in Towson and I never left. She got up to go to work the next day, and I asked her if she was going to drop me off. She told me to stay until she came back. The first night was our first date and we never left each other. It was instant love, it wasn’t just attraction. After our first kiss, I said, “I love you.” I had to grab my mouth because I didn’t mean to say it.

Rose: Yes, it was instant love. It was like we fit like a hand in a glove. We both knew it. When the right one comes, you know it and you don’t want to be without them.

Wendy: I moved in after the first night. I went and got my clothes from my apartment and officially moved in two days later. We were together after the second time I saw her.

Rose and Wendy pose for a picture on one of their very first dates back in 1990.

Rose and Wendy pose for a picture on one of their very first dates back in 1990.

4 thoughts on “Marathon Love: After 24 Years, Rose and Wendy Are Still a Team

  1. As a dear friend of Rose & Wendy, I can testify that their Love for each other is very honest and true. They belong together fir so many reason. I was a guest at their wedding and many other events. I thanks God for these two wonderful ladies that I can now call my Sisters. I love them dearly and so does my partner. They set the example of how a gay relationship should be. Many more years together- and Maggie–Milton & Mark – Baltimore/ New York

    Like

  2. Wendy and Rose are very dear to me! We have become so close that we agreed that they are my God parents. They include me in everything, and their love for me is genuine. They have a unique gift to love and help others. They are always doing something nice for someone unconditionally. I thank God for bringing us all together. “We are Family!” jerry son.

    Like

  3. This is a beautiful love story. I have known Rose and Wendy for all their time together and one thing I have always seen was their true love for one another. Don’t they even look good, together? Cheryl

    Like

  4. I love your story and testimony. It’s possible to love at first site. I thought i was crazy for thinking such a fairytale. But 🌹 and wendy lets me know that there is a happily ever after. Blessing to you both all the way from Florida.

    Like

Leave a Reply

