A Big Wedding Wasn’t Necessary for These Lovebirds

Marlena and Lakeisha hold hands during their wedding ceremony.

Marlena and Lakeisha hold hands during their wedding ceremony.

I first noticed Marlena and Lakeisha as they walked down the streets at Baltimore pride earlier this summer hand in hand. They both wore “Just Married” T-shirts and “Mrs.” hats. The couple, who live in Baltimore, graciously agreed to share their love story below:

Black Lesbian Love Lab (BL3): How did you first meet?

Marlena: We met at our previous job. I approached Lakeshia at work with a work-related matter and then started a conversation with her and discovered she was single.

BL3: What attracted you to each other?

Lakeshia: Her coy smile, beauty and girlish charm [are] what attracted me to my wife.

Marlena: Her beautiful smile, eyes, lips personality and the fact that she carries herself so gracefully as if she’s attending a $5,000-a-plate charity event with millionaires.

BL3: When did you first know it was love?

Lakeshia: I first knew I was in love with Marlena our second night together when she held me in her arms.

Marlena: I first knew that I was in love with Lakeshia when I literally first laid my eyes on her, and after spending the first night with her just confirmed those feelings. I said I love you first.

BL3: What do you love about each other?

Lakeshia: I love her femininity.

Marlena: I love her femininity, affection, smile, her kiss. I could go on and on …

Marlena and Lakeisha show off their wedding bling.

Marlena and Lakeisha show off their wedding bling.

BL3: Tell us about the wedding.

Lakeshia: We’ve been together for 2 1/2 years. We got married on February 18, 2014.

Marlena: The most memorable part of our ceremony is the actual ceremony. From the moment we woke up all the way up until the moment when we said, “I do.” We kept the something old, something new something borrowed and something blue wedding tradition. We got married at the courthouse in Baltimore County. We knew that we wanted to spend the rest of our lives together. We didn’t want a big wedding we were ready to take the next step.

Leave a Reply

